TANESCO’s Generation Division is responsible for all Power Generation functions owned by TANESCO, both National Grid connected and off - Grid Stations. Other sources of generation are from independent power producers (IPPs) and EPPs, which feed the National Grid and isolated areas as well SPPs.

TANESCO’s Generation System consists mainly of Hydro and Thermal based Generation. Whereby Thermal contributes the largest share of TANESCO's Grid power Generation. Thermal Power Plants comprises 57% total installed capacity while Hydro Plants contributes 43%.

The Hydro - Plants are all interconnected with the National Grid System and their installed capacity for each stations are as follows: Kidatu 204 MW, Kihansi 180 MW, Mtera 80 MW, New Pangani 68 MW, Hale 21 MW, Uwemba 0.843 MW and nyumba ya Mungu 8 MW, totaling to 561.843 MW.

Thermal Gas & Diesel Generation - Grid Connected with Capacity Totaling 696.36 MW is from Kinyerezi I Gas Plant (150 MW), Kinyerezi II Gas Plant (240 MW), Ubungo I Gas Plant (102 MW), Ubungo II Gas Plant (129 MW), Tegeta Gas Plant (45 MW), Somanga Gas Plant (7.5 MW), Mtwara Gas Plant (18 MW), Zuzu Dodoma Diesel Plant (7.40 MW) and Nyakato Plant (63 MW), Ngara (2.50 MW) and Biharamulo (4.14 MW).

Off - Grid Diesel Station Total Capacity is 52.516 MW from Bukoba (2.56 MW), Inyonga (0.476 MW), Kasulu (2.50 MW), Kibondo (2.50 MW), Kigoma (11.81 MW), Liwale (0.848 MW), Loliondo (5.00 MW), Ludewa (1.27 MW), Madaba (0.476 MW), Mafia (2.18 MW), Mbinga (2.00 MW), Mpanda (4.296 MW), Namtumbo (0.34 MW), Songea (8.312 MW), Sumbawanga (5.00 MW) and Tunduru (2.948 MW).