TANESCO owns interconnection power grid made up of generation system transmission and distribution system. Transmission system comprises of fifty-seven (57) Substations interconnected by transmission lines. Transmission lines network comprises of 3010.7 km of 220 kV, 1672.57 km of 132 kV, 543 km of 66kV and 670 km 400kV totalling 5896.27 km by the end of December 2019.

TANESCO’s Future Plan

TANESCO future transmission network will include ongoing projects of 414 km of 400 kV Singida – Arusha - Namanga transmission line , 293km of 220kV Transmission line from Bulyanhulu-Geita-Nyakanazi-Rusumo, 161km of 220kV SGR 1 Transmission line from Dar es Salaam to Morogoro, 381km of 132kV Tabora – Ipole – Inyonga- Katavi transmission line, 395km of 132kV Tabora – Urambo – Nguruka (Mganza) – Kigoma (Kidahwe) Transmission line and 14km of 132kV Kibada Kigamboni transmission line (this will have a pie configuration at Kibada from the Kurasini Mbagala Transmission line).

Other projects at which are at inception stages includes 400 kV double circuit TL from Julius Nyerere Hydropower plant to Dodoma and Kinyerezi via Chalinze and associated substations, Construction of 372 km, 400 kV double circuit TL from Julius Nyerere Hydropower plant to Kinyerezi via Kibiti, Somangafungu – Kibiti  and associated substation at Kibiti, 60km, 220kV from Chalinze to Bagamoyo,64km 220kV Segera – Tanga, 280km, 400kV line from Nyakanazi – Kigoma, 530km of 400kV Transmission line from Kigoma -Katavi – Sumbawanga, 620km, 400kV line from Iringa - Kisada – Mbeya – Tunduma - Sumbawanga, 4km, 330kV from Tunduma to the border with Zambia, 400kV line from Mtwara – Songea,414km of  220 kV Morogoro - Makutupora Transmission Line project for electrification of SGR2 line (414 km) and Bay extension at Msamvu and Zuzu Grid Substations and Construction of various TANESCO buildings including Regional and Districts offices.